Staying Connected Overseas with Google Voice and Skype

March 11, 2010

When I first moved to China, I decided that I still wanted to stay connected to the US.  Part of that is keeping a US phone number that can both send and receive calls and text messages.  Luckily, thanks to products like Google Voice and Skype, doing so is now cheap and easy.

If you’ve used Google Voice, you are already used to the idea of having a forwarding phone number – every time someone calls your Google Voice number, the call is forwarded to your regular phone.  My phone is in China, though, so it doesn’t work quite so easily; Google Voice does not support adding overseas phone numbers to an account yet.

When I first set up my Google Voice account, I was living in the US and used my US cell phone.  However, I canceled my contract with AT&T, so I didn’t even have that anymore.  If you’re in a similar situation and would like to continue to have a US-based phone while you’re abroad, feel free to follow along with my setup below.

1. Turn off call forwarding for your old phone

My first step was to turn off SMS forwarding and enable ‘Do Not Disturb’ mode so that while I had no physical phone, my calls and text messages would not be forwarded to some stranger who ended up with my old number.

To do that, you need to do two things in Google Voice.  First, make sure your messages are sent to your email.  Go to Settings->Voicemail & SMS.  Within that tab, turn on Voicemail Notifications and SMS Forwarding.  Don’t forget to save your changes.

Forwarding Google Voice to Email

Forwarding Google Voice to Email

Next, turn on Do Not Disturb mode to prevent calls from being forwarded to your old phone number.  This is under Settings->Calls.

Enabling Do Not Disturb in Google Voice

Do Not Disturb

Now, you can send and receive text messages, and you can receive incoming calls.  All the calls go to voicemail, but at least you can get messages.

2. Allow incoming calls with a Skype-In number

To start making and receiving calls again for real, you need to set up a Skype account with the ability to receive calls.  A basic skype account is free, but to receive calls in the US, it will cost you $18 for 3 months.

Once you have a basic Skype account set up, to add support for incoming calls, go to Account->View Account from the menu bar.

Skype - View Account

Skype - View Account

Now that you have your Skype account page open, you want to buy an ‘Online Number’.  Go to that tab and set up a number in the US.

Skype - Online Number

Skype - Online Number

3. Set up your new Skype number as a phone in Google Voice

Once you have your new Skype number, go back to Google Voice and add it as a telephone – Settings->Phones->Add a new phone.  I call mine ‘Skype’.  You don’t want to receive SMS messages on this phone, because you’re already receiving them in your email, so choose ‘Home’ as your phone type.  Make sure you’re signed into Skype right now.

Adding Skype Number to Google Voice

Adding Skype Number to Google Voice

You’ll receive a call on Skype asking you to input a two digit number.  You’ll have to open the digital keypad to input the number.

Skype - Keypad Button

Skype - Keypad Button

At this point, you should delete your old number in Google Voice and turn off ‘Do Not Disturb’, so that Google Voice begins forwarding your calls again.  If someone calls your Google Voice number, you will receive the call on Skype, as long as you are signed in.

4. Enable international call forwarding in Skype

What if you are not signed in, though?  Supposing you have a phone number in your current country, you can set up Skype to forward the call to your phone number.  To do this, you need to add some Skype credit and set up a forwarding number in the View Account page.

Skype - Adding Credit and a Forwarding Number

Skype - Adding Credit and a Forwarding Number

Now, if you are not signed into Skype, and someone calls your Google Voice number, the call will be forwarded to Skype, which will then forward it to your new phone number at regular Skype rates (for me, US->China is 2.1 cents/minute).  Therefore, you should be sure to buy some Skype credits as well.

5. Set up a “do not disturb” schedule in Google Voice (optional)

This is pretty good, but there’s one last optimization I made.  If you are worried about people calling who don’t know you’re out of the country and waking you up in the middle of the night, you can set up Google Voice to only ring your phone during the daytime in your timezone; otherwise, calls go straight to voicemail.  This has already saved me twice when my bank called to ask me some survey questions.

a. Set the time zone for your Google account

First, make sure your Google account is set up for the right time zone.  Go to Settings->Account and select your time zone from the drop down menu.

Setting the Google Account Timezone

Setting the Google Account Timezone

b. Create a custom ring schedule

Then, to set up a custom ring schedule for your phone, go to Settings->Phones->Skype and click the ‘Edit’ button.

Google Voice - Editing the Skype Phone

Google Voice - Editing the Skype Phone

Finally, click ‘Show Advanced Settings’ and go down to the Ring Schedule settings.  Here, you can get as fancy as you want.  I have mine set up to not ring from midnight until 6am on weekdays and from 1am to 7am on weekends.

Google Voice - Custom Ring Schedules

Google Voice - Custom Ring Schedules

6. Enjoy your new international phone number!

That’s it!  You now have a US phone number that you can use anywhere in the world for about 2-3 cents per minute for voice and includes free, unlimited text messages.  To make a call, just use Google Voice as usual by calling your contact and selecting ‘Skype’ as the phone to ring.  If you’re on you’re computer and are signed into Skype, you will get the call on Skype and won’t have to pay for it at all.  If you’re not near your computer, your cell phone will ring and you’ll pay Skype’s international rate.  Incoming calls work the same way.

Hope this helps someone!

46 Responses to “Staying Connected Overseas with Google Voice and Skype”

  1. Jessica Says:

    Thanks for posting this – it was so helpful! And so great for friends and family to be able to call me for free after I move overseas next week!

    Thanks so much.
    Jessica

  2. Mike Says:

    I’m glad to hear it helped, Jessica! Hope you have a good experience overseas!

  3. Elliot Says:

    Thanks for this! I’m moving to New Zealand soon and have been looking for a cheap way to maintain a US number. This is it, and it’s cheaper than Vonage!

  4. Sophia Says:

    Thanks! Very useful, thanks! Especially the tip on DND is great, I hate being called at 4 AM when I’m abroad 🙂


  5. omg how cool!!! because Ive been wondering how to keep my GV. I hope google lets us add international numbers soon

    you can also check out this thing called magic jack. i know it can be bought overseas and in cvs here. but it works with the internet, and it gives u an american number.

  6. Ray Says:

    This was very clear except for the outgoing call part. If I’m logged into Skype, then it is straight forward. But if I am on my cell phone with the Japanese SIM in it, how should I make a call back to the US?

    2nd question ( related ), What country should the Skype number be in? The foreign country that I am in or should it be somewhere in the US?

    My guess is the Skype number is in the country I am in , which gives me a local SkyeOut number to call (like when you check Skype voice mail ) and then you tell it to call a US number which then completes the call of over Skype’s network.

    But that is just a guess.

  7. Mike Says:

    Hi Ray,

    Sorry if this was confusing. You should actually get the Skype-In number in the US. Google Voice works by first calling your phone number, then by connecting you with the number you want to call. Your Skype number is the first number that Google Voice will call and therefore needs to be in the US.

    When I’m not near my computer, I still have data access on my cell phone, so I go to the Google Voice mobile webpage and tell it to call someone and connect to my Skype number. Skype will then forward to my actual cell phone because I’m not signed in to Skype. Unfortunately, this won’t work if you don’t have a data plan for your cell phone. To be honest, I don’t know what the best solution would be for you in that case, since I haven’t had to set that up for myself.

    Hope this helps!

  8. Lee Says:

    Nice summary. Two questions:

    1. I don’t get the last paragraph, specifically “selecting ‘Skype’ as the phone to ring”? Why not just call from GV over 3G/WiFi? Why add the Skype layer on out going calls?

    2. When someone calls your GV number, and it’s routed to Skype and then Skype routes to your in-country number, don’t you get charged by GV and Skype? GV at their US-US rate and Skype at their US-InCountry rate? And then wouldn’t you get hit again by your SIM provider at whatever US-InCountry rate?

    Thanks!

    Lee

    • Mike Says:

      Hey Lee,

      1. There are actually two situations in which you make an outgoing call with Google Voice.

      If you’re sitting at your computer, GV works by calling a phone you select then connecting you with the phone you’re trying to call. It doesn’t actually call through your computer. Since I’m overseas, I can have it call my Skype online number and I make the call through skype using my computer’s microphone.

      If you’re on your cell phone and have wifi or 3G, the way Google Voice works is by finding a local access number for your phone to call and using the ‘phone’ functionality on your phone to make a local call, which then gets connected to someone else by Google’s computer. Unfortunately, there are no local access numbers for me in China, so I don’t want to make the call that way because that first call would be charged at international rates (China to US). If I have GV use my Skype phone, however, it calls my US Skype number, and then Skype charges me 2 cents per minute to connect to my cell phone in China.

      2. GV is free for US to US calls, so there’s no charge there. If you have a Skype online number, you don’t get charged per-minute – it’s a constant $18 every three months for unlimited incoming calls.

      You only get charged per minute if you don’t answer the call on Skype using your computer. Then, you pay the rate that Skype charges to call from the US to wherever your cell phone is (for me, that’s China).

      Lee, let me know if that helps. If you have any more questions, let me know. I’ll try to answer more quickly than I did this time…

  9. Lee Says:

    Mike,

    Thanks for the reply. I’m still not clearing connecting the dots with the Skype / GV calling. Going to think about it some more and re-read your post.

    But my understanding based on your comment is that I can not call the US through GV alone (no Skype) on my cell when I am connected through WiFi, without incurring fees? Thought that was possible…

  10. Lee Says:

    Mike,

    I think I am clear on having calls forwarded to the cell in-country. Our situation is a bit different because we will be keeping our US cell phone number. So I’m leaving our current US cell number in GV, turned on, but with the option to forward calls to the US cell number to my other GV phones. Since my GV account will only include the mobile and Skype Online, any calls to my US cell number will be forwarded to Skype Online, which will be forwarded to my in-country number as specified in Skype forwarding. For this, I should only be charged a Skype US-country rate. I thought it would also charge a Skype US-US for the GV to Skype Online forward, but that doesn’t appear to be the case. One question – Will this use up minutes / $$$ on my in-country SIM card when I receive the call on my cell?

    I am still confused about placing calls using the cell phone over WiFi. Keep in mind I’m using a Nexus One, so my questions may have more to do with the GV App for the N1.

    First question: You say to make a call, use GV to call your contact, select “Skype” as the phone to ring (“have it call my Skype Online number”). I don’t see where that option is available. For instance, I can set an option to let me choose, when placing the call, whether to call via GV or the phone under settings. I also have an option in the GV app to set “This Phone’s Number”, which lists the phones in my GV account. Is this the option you’re talking about? When setting that to the Skype Online number, my caller ID shows up as the GV number and the call isn’t shown in the Skype history.

    Second question: When I make outgoing calls this way, it won’t use up minutes on the SIM card when Skype connects with my cell?

    Lastly, just to confirm – outgoing calls via GV / Skype on the cell are not possible without 3G / WiFi, obviously, right? So then I would choose not to use GV when prompted by the phone after dialing the number, otherwise the call would simply fail. In the scenario where I want to call a local in-country number with my SIM, I would again choose not to use GV when prompted.

    Ok, one more thing. I would think it’d be cheaper calling the US at the SIM rate than using GV+Skype over 3G, and getting hit with the data rate?

    Thanks!

    Lee

    • Mike Says:

      Hi Lee,

      I think I see where you’re coming from a little better now. I have an iPhone, so it’s possible the GV app works differently on the Nexus One.

      On the iPhone, I’ve been going to the mobile version of the GV website. They recently upgraded it and took away the ability to specify which phone I want to ring on outgoing calls. Luckily, there’s an option to see the older version, which is more like the regular website and lets me specify a phone. I’m not sure what the equivalent would be on the Nexus One.

      As far as charging your SIM card, I think that depends on your carrier. After you initiate the call with GV, the call that eventually causes your phone to ring is an incoming call. On my plan, incoming calls are free, but I’m sure it varies.

      Therefore, if incoming calls are free on your plan, I think the cheapest way to make outgoing calls with GV for you would be to turn off the Skype app on your phone (so the incoming skype call goes over your SIM, not your data plan), then use the GV app to initiate a call with your Skype phone.

      I have a feeling that if I had a Nexus One, I’d be able to help more, since I’d know exactly what you’re seeing. I’m actually pretty sure that my next phone will be an Android; the iPhone OS is pretty limiting. Last time I changed phones, though, the only one out was the G1, which wasn’t too exciting.

  11. Lee Says:

    Thanks again. Well Skype has not yet provided an App for Android phones other than for Verizon. Very disappointing of them to say the least…

    I bet that setting I found is what you’re using, though it’s a pain because I would have to switch it over every time I changed from calling abroad to calling locally. Not a deal breaker, but I could easily see forgetting.

    My wife is headed to Oxford this weekend, so it’ll give us a chance to try things out. I’ll let you know how it goes.

    Thanks =)

    Lee

  12. Lee Says:

    Mike,

    Seems to be working though I’ve noticed a few things that I am going to write up on my blog at some point.

    One thing I’ve realized is that we get hit with the US-Mobile rate, which in the UK is 20 cents per minute, versus the US-Landline rate of 2 cents per minute. I guess 20 cents is still better than the alternatives…

  13. Han Says:

    Hi Mike, thanks for the great tutorial, it’s working perfectly for me!

    My only issue is that the caller id for all incoming calls are Chinese Skype numbers and not my friends’ US names/numbers – do you have this issue as well? If not, I’d really appreciate any pointers on how to overcome this problem, thanks in advance!

    • Mike Says:

      Hi Han,

      I have this problem as well. I don’t know if there’s a way to get around it, though. I know Google Voice keeps the incoming number when it forwards to Skype, but I don’t think Skype can keep the incoming number when it forwards to China on the last step. If it did that, it would probably end up costing Skype the same as a long-distance call. I’m just guessing, though, so if you can figure out a way to get their number show up, please let me know!

      -Mike

  14. George Says:

    Hi Mike. I have a slightly different situation from you in that I plan to visit India for just 3 weeks. I’ve just signed up for Verizon’s unlimited data plan in India (~$65), but Verizon offers no way around $2/min voice calls. Questions:
    – Just so I’m clear, is the only reason Skype enters the picture is because Google Voice won’t forward to an international number, whereas Skype does.
    – If someone calls your Google Voice number in the US, and is then forwarded to the Skype number, would I be able to pick up that call using just the unlimited data plan and the Skype app on my Droid? My guess is no – if this could work, then I should be able to cut out Skype entirely and pick up the call using the Google Voice app on my Droid.

    • Mike Says:

      Hey George. Sorry for the late reply; I’ve been traveling and didn’t get on the blog for a few weeks.

      You’re right that I only use Skype for the international call forwarding.

      I wish I had a droid so I could answer your second question definitely, but I think it might work.

      According to this forum thread, http://www.google.com/support/forum/p/voice/thread?tid=5da6ced9b299dd5b&hl=en, it looks like the Google Voice app on Android works over your voice plan by calling an access number, not over you data plan with VOIP. Since that’s the case, you still probably want to use the Skype step in the middle while you’re in India.

  15. Sheri Says:

    Hi, I am trying to figure out why we need the Google Voice step, too. If you get a USA phone number from Skype, why do you need a USA phone number from GV? OR is it that GV has services that Skype does not have and vice versa?

    I will be out of the country for three months. I am trying to find out if callers can call my regular cell phone number, have it go to Skype, and then have it forwarded to my cell (either USA sim or Israeli sim or both).

    Sorry for being dense about the GV part of this…. I am working on setting it up now.

    • Mike Says:

      Hi Sheri,

      I have three reasons that I included the GV step.

      1. This probably doesn’t apply to you, but i was already using the GV number, so my friends had that in their phones. This way I didn’t have to change.

      2. Outgoing calls are cheaper. You can make free outgoing calls to the US with GV, but not with Skype. When you use this set up, an outgoing call on GV looks like an incoming call to skype.

      3. I like the voicemail, SMS, and ring schedule features on GV a lot. Voicemail and SMSs both get forwarded to your email, and you can make sure incoming calls don’t ring while you’re sleeping.

      Still, if you’re just looking for the simplest possible set up and don’t want to make a lot of outgoing calls, it’d probably be easier to just use Skype.

  16. Dave Says:

    For the people that do not have data plans, it is still possible if your phone is WiFi capable. You will be required to be in a WiFi Hot Spot for it to work.

  17. christine Says:

    Incredibly helpful!! Exactly what I’ve been looking for doing for a while. Thank you Mike.

  18. Leah Says:

    Hey guys, and Mike –

    Great forum! I’ve recently moved to Tanzania, and had been setting this up on my own before I found this thread…but I’m running into some issues.

    1. Has anyone else had trouble placing an outgoing call through GV lately? I read somewhere that it was ‘down’ on Nov. 2nd…wondering if that’s the case or if I set it up wrong…

    2. I still have my US number, so here’s what my forwarding looks like: US AT&T cell number > GV number > Skype online number > Tanzania local cell phone. When someone calls my Skype online number, however, it’s forwaring straight to voicemail and not ringing on my local phone.

    Any ideas?

    Thanks!!

    Leah

    • Han Says:

      Hi Leah,
      I had problem 2) as well, and the reason it goes straight to voicemail is that Google Voice has a timer whereupon after 20 sec it goes to voicemail. Unfortunately, the time it takes for all that forwarding is pretty much 20 sec, so whenever a friend from the US calls me in China via that setup, my phone rings once and then they get sent to voicemail.

      I fixed this by giving out my Skype number directly unfortunately. Google Voice knows about this issue but doesn’t know when they’re going to fix it.

      Hope that helps.

  19. Jim Says:

    Thanks so much for this Mike. I also am seeing my calls go right to voice mail. Is this a change so that all users now experience this or what? I mean Han says that Google knows this is an issue, but does not know when to fix it. So did it used to work for everyone and now it does not?

  20. Mark Says:

    OK here’s one..Why not just have a data plan in china on your cell phone for unlimited data.. Just use Skype. Skype on the Android. You can point whatever number you like to the skype number. It should ring you cell phone wit the new carriers SIM chip using hte data network only. NO 2 cents a minute? Only data.

    Where am I wrong?

    • Mike Says:

      Hey Mark,

      Good question – there are a few reasons why this wouldn’t work for me (I’m not saying it wouldn’t work for you, just explaining why I went with the way I talked about in the article).

      1. I already had a Google Voice number that people used in the US. This let me keep the same number.
      2. I don’t know how to prevent Skype from ringing in the middle of the night, saving voicemails, and allowing unlimited texting in the US. You can probably do this, but I never had a reason to investigate it.
      3. I’m not sure if there is an unlimited data plan on China Unicom – if there is, it would be a lot more expensive than what I have now, and the 3G connection isn’t great.
      4. It would probably end up being more expensive. With Google Voice in there, I can pay only for unlimited incoming calls on Skype, even when I call out. This saves about $10/mo.
      5. I don’t have an Android phone. When I set everything up, the iPhone didn’t allow multitasking, so there wouldn’t be any way for it to ring my phone when someone called unless I only used the Skype app and had it on all the time. Even now, I’m not sure Apple lets the Skype app do this over a 3G connection.

      Anyway, if your solution works on an Android phone, it certainly sounds easier to set up than mine. Good luck!

  21. Jen Says:

    Mike,
    Thank you a 1000 times for your time on this blog explaining this to all of us novice. I do still have a few questions though. I am primarily interested in using the SMS feature between myself (in US) and a friend in NZ.

    To send a SMS from me to him (from US to NZ):
    I’d send the SMS from my phone to his Google voice phone number? Then GV>Skype>NZ local number.

    For him to send me a SMS back (NZ to US):
    He’d open GV on his iphone and send a text to my normal us number. Then GV would send this directly to my GV on my iphone? Do I need to have an NZ online number for him to send the SMS to?

    He tried to set up a google voice number, while in NZ but it wouldn’t work; it said it doesn’t work out of US. Is that because he was using a NZ phone number for forwarding?

    Thank you again for all your time put into this.

    Jen

    • Mike Says:

      Hey Jen,

      Sorry to take so long to reply…

      From you to him:

      Send an SMS to his GV number. This will get sent to his email. For me, that’s enough, because I check my email on my phone. If you really want it to arrive as an SMS, you may be able to do it through Skype, but I’m not sure.

      From him to you:

      He can send an SMS to any US number for free from GV. So if he opens GV on his phone, he can text your regular US number. You don’t need an NZ number.

      Setting up a GV number while in NZ:

      Yes, GV doesn’t work with non-US forwarding numbers. That’s why I suggest first creating a US Skype-in number, then registering that with Google Voice.

      Hope this helps and isn’t too late!


  22. Now you can use you can forward your GV number to an international number. Check it out: bit.ly/fEjKp9

  23. Rachel Says:

    Great article. Planning on using it when I go abroad to Peru. The only thing is, it seems to me that the Google Voice forwarding is a little redundant. Why not just have friends call the Skype Online number directly?

  24. Darin Says:

    Mike,

    Thanks for all the info. We are moving to South Africa from the US in a couple days and I’ve been looking for an inexpensive way to keep in touch with family and friends. I’m new to GV and have just ported my cell number to GV. If I understand what you’ve said in your replies, I will be able to have make and receive calls using only GV for free if I do them thru my computer since my GV number is a US number. Is that correct? So if I’m not worried about making or receiving calls on an in-country cell phone, my GV number is all I need and I can leave Gmail open all the time and make and receive calls for free whenever I want to. Please let me know if this isn’t true. Thanks.

  25. ray Says:

    Hi Mike,

    I’ve set up my Skype acct, applied for a Skype #, and added a 1 yr unlimited plan for calls to the US. In addition, I’ve linked my Skype # to GV.

    My first question is, can some one who lives in the US call my Skype # directly from a land line while I’m out of the US and neither my caller or myself be charged for the call at int’l rates?

    Second question, If I have a Iphone using a local sim card for the country I’m in, can I receive calls for free if some one calls my GV # which than directs it to skype? I’ve read through your older post, just not very clear on this point.The gist for me is to avoid being charged at a int’l rate when using the iphone if I can.

    Also, I’m assuming if I make calls using my Ipad via Skype it’s a free call no matter if I call a land line or mobile and vice versa if I’m on my Ipad when some one directly dials my Skype # or GV #.
    Thanks

  26. Vasili Says:

    Thanks for all your help setting up the GV and Skype connection. It seems to work within the US….I know you dont use andriod but hope you or someone knows the answer to my question.
    I am traveling to Greece and using a greek sim card in my phone do access the internet. I purchased an unlimited calling plan to the US for $2.99…I am not sure why I should or could use GV to make outgoing calls to the US….if I am signed into Skype and dial a phone number thru Skype wont that be billed under my unlimited US Skype subscription?

    And for the record Skype allows you to change the phone number you display on your outgoing calls…when I use Skype to make calls, my GV number comes up on the caller ID…I hope that it still works when I am in Europe….

  27. Carlos Says:

    Hi,

    Thanks very much for this. Question about texts: If I set my skype number in GV as “mobile” rather than “home”, will I be able to receive the text messages that are sent to my GV number, on my cell phone abroad? Understand that I can receive them via email forwarding, but I would like to also get them on my phone, and to be able to reply as well.

    Would this work?

    Thanks!


  28. Thanks for your write-up. I would also love to comment that the very first thing you will need to carry out is determine whether you really need credit repair. To do that you simply must get your hands on a duplicate of your credit score. That should never be difficult, since the government necessitates that you are allowed to have one absolutely free copy of your actual credit report every year. You just have to request the right individuals. You can either read the website for that Federal Trade Commission or even contact one of the major credit agencies directly.


  29. […] Here is a detailed step by step on how to setup Google Voice and Skype for international forwarding in Internet […]

  30. barbara Says:

    Can I receive text from My bank to my google voice number? What do I do to receive text from my bank?

  31. mikhail Says:

    Use IPkall to get a Washington state phone number for free, forward google voice to ipkall


  32. constantly i used to read smaller posts that also clear their motive, and that is also happening with this article which I am reading at this time.

  33. Anita Says:

    wonderful issues altogether, you just won a new reader.
    What might you recommend in regards to your publish that
    you made a few days ago? Any sure?


  34. It’s very effortless to find out any topic on net as compared to books, as I found this piece of writing at this web
    site.


Comments are closed.